SHOWS

[Friday 5 June 2020

Avant Vespers

St. Mary's Episcopal Church

50 W. 200 N. Provo

Friday 1 May 2020

Avant Vespers

Katie Porter

Asplund/Belknap/Heath/Monson/Reich Quintet

St. Mary's Episcopal Church

50 W. 200 N. Provo

Friday 3 April 2020

Avant Vespers

St. Mary's Episcopal Church

50 W. 200 N. Provo

Friday 6 March 2020

Avant Vespers

St. Mary's Episcopal Church

50 W. 200 N. Provo

Featuring: Jazz Jaguars

Saturday 29 February 2020, 6 pm

Baby Fishmonkey Musical Art Exhibit

Writ and Vision, 274 W Center St., Provo

Ricksplund, with

Forrest Friends, Delphic Quorum, MORDECHAI + AISLE KNOT

Thursday 26 December 2019, 7:30 pm

Boxing Day Salon

The Blue Door

349 W 400 S, Provo

Thursday 19 December 2019, 8 pm

We Free Kings (Asplund, Erik Larson, Timm Tippetts)

Dance Party

Boxcar Gallery and Studios

156 W 500 S, Provo, UT

Sunday 15 December 2019, 2 pm

Nielsen/Asplund Duo

12 Minutes Max

Salt Lake Public Library

210 E 400 S

Saturday 7 December 2019, 7:30 pm

Asplund/Larson/Nielsen Trio with

Alex Caldiero

@ Avant Vespers

St. Mary's Church

50 West 200 North Street, Provo

[neglected to note a bunch of shows here]

Saturday 23 March 2019, 8 pm

Keith Wecker, saxophone/electronics (Vancouver, BC)

Venue TBA

Tuesday 19 March 2019, 7:30 pm

Group for New Music

Madsen Recital Hall, Provo

Premiere of Asplund's Microetudes

by Pipa virtuosa Weiwei Lan

Tuesday 12 March 2019, 8pm

Guitarist Sandy Ewen (Houston)

with Ricksplund

Boxcar Gallery and Studios

156 W 500 S, Provo, UT

Thursday 7 March 2019, 7 pm

Nature Transformed

Sound and Video Inspired by

the Work of Patrick Dougherty

and Denae Mattis

Ricksplund with

the Bay Bros

BYU Museum of Art

Friday 1 March 2019, 7:30pm

Avant Vespers 10

BYU/UVU Student Composers

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Friday 22 February 2019, 8pm

We Free Kings and

Salt Lake Electronic Ensemble

Boxcar Gallery and Studios

156 W 500 S, Provo, UT

Friday 1 February 2019

Avant Vespers 9

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Ricksplund, Gavin Ryan, Nathan Adams, Erik Larson

Sunday 4 November 2018, 7:30 pm

Avant Vespers 6

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Alex Caldiero and

Alex/Aubrey Woods playing Christian Asplund's Choreutics

Thursday 25 October 2018, 7:30 pm

BYU Faculty Composers Concert

Madsen Recital Hall, Provo

Free

New work for cellow performed by Michelle Kesler

Also Ricksplund will play

Also, compositions by Neil Thornock, Stephen Jones, and Michael Hicks

Sunday 14 October 2018, 2-4 pm

LET'S USE OUR INDOOR VOICES, SHALL WE?

SLC Public Library Quiet Music Series

A performance/installation with Christian Asplund, Nathan Adams and TEV ensemble in different locations in the library space.

Wednesday 10 October 2018, 6pm - 11 pm

Thelonious Monk Marathon

Madsen Recital Hall, Provo, Free

Hosted by Christian Asplund and Logan Hone, with Erik Larson, Steven Stallings, Steve Ricks, and Ray Smith

Playing all 70 Monk compositions

Audience may come and go (quietly) as desired and may bring pillows and blankets as desired

Sunday 7 October 2018, 7:30 pm

Avant Vespers 5

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Adam Bean, trobone and electronics

Spencer Ford and singers

Ricksplund (Steve Ricks: electronis/trombone; Christian Asplund, viola, electronics)

Tuesday 2 October 2018, 7:30 pm, Madsen Recital Hall, Provo, Utah

Alex and Aubrey Woods with Jason Hardinck

Including Choreutics, by Christian Asplund

Saturday 29 September 2018, 5 pm, Free

Michelle Kesler, cello

Outdoor Amphitheater, Canyon de Chelly, Arizona

Performance of new Asplund work

Friday 28 September 2018, 5 pm, Free

Michelle Kesler, cello

The Hubbell Home Yard, Hubbell Trading Post National Historic Site,

Ganado, AZ

Premiere of new Asplund work

Thursday 27 September, 11 am

Alex/Aubrey Woods Duo play movement from Choreutics

BYU School of Music Fall Forum

De Jong Concert Hall

Sunday 23 September 2018, 7:30 pm

Avant Vespers 4

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Tatsuya Nakatani and Christian Asplund

Sunday 5 August, 7:30 pm

Avant Vespers 2

Guest Curated by Jason Rabb

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Music by Jacob Rosenzweig and It Foot It Ears

Sunday 1 July, 7:30 pm

Avant Vespers 2

St. Mary's Church, 50 W 200 N, Provo, UT

Guest Curator: Stuart Wheeler

Saturday 30 June 2018, 7 pm

Spectrum, NYC

Heath/Asplund Duo: songs of Cage/Ligeti/Messiaen/Webern/Asplund

Sunday 3 June 2018, 7:30 pm

Inaugural Avant Vespers

St. Mary's Church, Provo, Utah

New Music by Asplund, Stuart Wheeler, and Others

Friday 1 June 2018, 8 pm

Gallery 1412, Seattle

Bill Smith (clarinet), Stuart Dempster (sundries), Greg Campbell (percussion), Christian Asplund (piano, viola)

Thursday 31 May 2018, 8 pm

Wayward Music Series

Good Shepherd Chapel Performance Space, Seattle

Asplund/Heath Duo: songs of Cage/Ligeti/Messiaen/Webern/Asplund

With Greg Campbell and Other Special Guests

$5-$15 Suggested Donation

Friday 18 May 2018, 7:30 pm

The A-Frame, Provo

Heath/Asplund Duo: songs of Cage/Ligeti/Messiaen/Webern/Asplund

with Baritone Rob Brandt

$10